Kevin Outterson, J.D., LL.M.

APUA is pleased to award Kevin Outterson the 2015 Leadership Award in recognition of his groundbreaking research into new business models and incentives
for antibiotic development.
Professor Outterson, the N. Pike Scholar in Health and Disability Law and co-director of Boston University's health law program, is the author of groundbreaking models to address the economic challenge of developing new antibiotics. Together with his scholarship and testimony before the United States Congress, he elevates the issues of antimicrobial resistance to a new level, catalyzing access to effective treatment of bacterial infections for all.

Past Recipients of the APUA Leadership Award:

Maryn McKenna, Senior Fellow of the Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism at Brandeis University, Research affiliate at MIT
For her tireless work in bringing the danger of growing antibiotic resistance to the attention of the public.
John LaMattina, Ph.D. Former Senior Vice President, Pfizer Inc. and President, Pfizer Global Research and Development

For his insights and writings on the process and costs of antibiotic drug development. 

Keith Klugman, M.D., Ph.D., Director for Pneumonia at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
For global expertise on antibiotic resistance in pneumonia. He helped develop the pneumococcal conjugate vaccine, credited with reducing invasive pneumococcal disease in the U.S. by 80% since 2000.
Dr. Moises Morejon-Garcia

of APUA-Cuba
For their outstanding efforts against antibiotic resistance in research, expert advice and media information, prescriber training and information, and collaboration with other organizations and conferences throughout Cuba. 

Roman Kozlov, M.D., M.Sc., D.Sc. 
of APUA Russia, the Insititute of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (IAC) of Smolensk State Medical Academy, the Scientific Center for Monitoring of Antimicrobial Resistance of the Federal Agency for Healthcare & Social Development, and the Interregional Association for Clinical Microbiology & Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (IACMAC). 
For sustained leadership and collaborative efforts with IACMAC and IAC to contain antibiotic resistance in Russia and the adjacent region.

Giuseppe Cornaglia, M.D., Ph.D. of the European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
For his invaluable efforts in establishing expert study groups and educational initiatives in developing countries to control antibiotic resistance and improve treatment.
Kumud K. Kafle, M.D., Ph.D.
of APUA-Nepal
For their extraordinary multi-hospital coordination work to increase practitioner awareness of antibiotic resistance trends and treatment guidelines in the Kathmandu region.

Otto Cars, M.D., Ph.D.
of the Swedish Institute of Infectious Disease Control
For leadership of ReAct and Strama in advocating for political action to contain antibiotic resistance.
Miguel Peredo López-Velarde, M.D., Ph.D.
of APUA-Mexico
For introducing strong national surveillance, education, and legislation to improve antibiotic use in Mexico.

Martin Blaser, M.D.
Neil Fishman, M.D.

of the Infectious Diseases Society of America
In recognition of their exemplary leadership in promoting government action to improve antibiotic use and contain antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Inge C. Gyssens
Professor Jos W.M. Van Der Meer
Professor Henri S. Verbrugh
Professor John E. Degener

Professor Christina M. Vandenbroucke – Grauls
Professor Peter J.M. Van Den Broek

of WIP
In recognition of their outstanding leadership and aggressive work in infection control to slow the spread and emergence of antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Wasif Ali Kahn
of The International Center for Diarrheal Disease Research, Bangladesh
Sabeena Ahmed, M.Sc.
of Clinical Research and Service Centre, Bangladesh
In recognition of their outstanding leadership in the Scaling Up of Zinc for Young children with diarrhea (SUZY) project.

Dr. Anna Lönnroth
of the European Research Commission Program
In recognition of her outstanding leadership in mobilizing the European Commission’s research activities on antimicrobial resistance.
Dr. Herman Goossens
of The Laboratory of Medical Microbiology, University Hospital Antwerp
In recognition of his exemplary multifaceted research supported by the European Commission to promote the prudent use of antibiotics in humans.

Dr. Richard Besser
of U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
In recognition of his national leadership in promoting a successful antimicrobial resistance management program throughout the United States.

Dr. Gabriel Schmunis
of The Pan American Health Organization
For leadership in promoting antimicrobial resistance management programs throughout Latin America

Dr. Frank M. Aarestrup and Dr. Henrik C. Wegener
of the Danish Veterinary Institute
For scientific leadership in improving antibiotic use in agriculture
Robert L. Langer
of McDonald’s Corporation
For that company’s plan to phase-out growth promoting antibiotics in its meat supply

Dr. David Bell
of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Dr. Marissa Miller
of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases at the U.S. National Institutes of Health, and
Dr. Murray Lumpkin
of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
For development of the “U.S. Interagency Antimicrobial Resistance Plan”

Dr. Rosamund Williams
of the World Health Organization
For spearheading the “WHO Global Strategy to Contain Antimicrobial Resistance”

   View highlights from the 2010 member reception and award ceremony: